For CN employees only

Memphis, TN

April 17th - April 18th, 2020
From the CN-E. Hunter Harrison Center, named after a Memphis native and former CN president, to the illustrious “Ballad of Casey Jones,” some of Memphis’ deepest memories trace back to the train industry. While some may know the song from recordings by Johnny Cash, not many know that the song’s hero, Casey Jones, was a legendary Illinois Central (IC) rail engineer who gave his life saving his passengers in a collision in 1900.

Experience 100 years of CN

As we retrace our tracks, we are posting up in Memphis for a few days to give the public a chance to interact with everything CN. Join us in unpacking the chapters of our history, which features the people who have shaped us, the landscapes that have provided space for us, and a hands-on conversation about train safety and the future of rail transport.

To be announced

The full schedule will be revealed soon.
The Moving Celebration is opening its doors to the public with a series of interactive exhibitions to explore, placing you in the hands of CN guides, available at your disposal to walk you through every chapter of our exhibit. Hear their stories and stick around for a show by our special musical guests. Due to limited capacity, guests will be admitted to the event on a first-come, first-served basis.

The Railroad in Song

Inspired by an installment of works entitled, American Dreams, Thomas Hellman spins tales, stories and anecdotes of CN in a soundscape of words, harmonizing history with blues, folk, and gospel tunes. Accompanied by multi-instrumentalist composer's Erik West and Olaf Gundel, the trio will be traveling along The Moving Celebration, giving us not one, but two chances to tune in every day they perform.

 

Photo credit : Sophie Dalbou

Photo_Trio

Eric Paul Parent

Welcoming you at the doors will be our MC, Dr. Eric Paul Parent, who brings more than 30 years of experience in the fields of theatre, tourism, and culture to The Moving Celebration. With an extensive background in pedagogy and immersive tourism, Dr. Parent will be the liaison between guests and exhibits, bringing you closer to the heart of CN's history.

Photo credit : Jean-Sebastien St-Pierre


Memphis, TN
United States, Details to come
Parking
availability
Accessibility
Public
transit
Parking availability
Details to come
Accessibility
Details to come
Public transit
Details to come

Questions about the event?

Look through our FAQ or get in contact with us directly.
See FAQ

Train of the Future Contest

Participate for a chance to win CN100 accessories
How do you picture the “Train of the Future?” Follow your imagination to design your “Train of the Future” using the medium of your choice. Build your model at home or onsite at CN100 - A Moving Celebration! And post a photo of it on Facebook, Instagram, or Twitter using hashtags #CNTrainOfTheFuture and #CN100. (Just make sure your post is set to "public"!) Winners will be randomly selected every month. Good luck!

Help us spread the word

Fill in the form to send an invitation to the Moving Celebration.
Send this page to a friend by email

Pour les employés du CN seulement

Memphis, TN

Prévu pour 2020, détails à venir.
À la manière du sud, Memphis lève son chapeau en l’honneur de figures notables de l’industrie ferroviaire, du « CN - E. Hunter Harrison Center for Intermodal Safety and Emergency Preparedness », nommé en l’honneur de l’ancien président du CN natif de Memphis, jusqu’à l’illustre « Ballad of Casey Jones ». Bien que plusieurs connaissent la chanson grâce aux versions de Johnny Cash ou des Grateful Dead, peu savent que le héros de la chanson, Casey Jones, était un ingénieur ferroviaire de l’Illinois Central qui a donné sa vie pour sauver ses passagers dans une collision en 1900.

Retracez les 100 ans du CN

Au fur et à mesure que nous retraçons le chemin que nous avons parcouru, nous nous arrêtons à Memphis pendant quelques jours pour donner au public la chance d'interagir avec tout ce qui touche le CN. Joignez-vous à nous pour découvrir les chapitres de notre histoire, contempler l'avenir du transport ferroviaire grâce à des expositions mettant en vedette les gens et les paysages que nous avons connus et en apprendre plus sur la sécurité ferroviaire.

À confirmer

La programmation complète sera bientôt dévoilée.
La Célébration en mouvement ouvre ses portes au public avec une série d'expositions interactives à explorer! Des guides du CN seront également présents à chaque étape de notre exposition. Écoutez leurs histoires et assistez au spectacle de nos invités musicaux spéciaux. En raison de la capacité limitée du site, nous admettrons les visiteurs selon le principe du premier arrivé, premier servi.

Le chemin de fer en chansons

Inspiré d'un recueil d'œuvres intitulé American Dreams, Thomas Hellman transforme des contes, des histoires et des anecdotes du CN en un véritable paysage sonore de mots et de mélodies blues, folk et gospel. Accompagné des compositeurs multi-instrumentalistes Erik West et Olaf Gundel, le trio voyagera avec la Célébration en mouvement afin de vous offrir non pas une, mais deux occasions par jour d'assister à leur prestation.


Crédit photo : Sophie Dalbou

Éric Paul Parent

Notre maître de cérémonie, le Dr Éric Paul Parent, vous accueillera à la porte et vous fera profiter de ses quelque 30 ans d'expérience dans les domaines du théâtre, du tourisme et de la culture pendant la Célébration en mouvement. Fort d'une vaste expérience en pédagogie et en tourisme immersif, M. Parent assurera la liaison entre les invités et les expositions, vous immergeant ainsi dans l'histoire du CN.

Crédit photo : Jean-Sebastien St-Pierre

We will be at Harrison Yard

670 route Alcy ouest
Memphis, TN
38109, États-Unis
Stationnement
Accessibilité
Stationnement
Little Obie, notre train miniature, sera sur le site afin d'amener les gens du stationnement jusqu'à l'entrée de l'événement.
Accessibilité
Des places de stationnement près de l’entrée du site seront réservées aux personnes ayant des besoins particuliers. De plus, tous les conteneurs seront équipés d’une rampe d’accès.

Des questions à propos de l'événement?

Consultez notre FAQ ou contactez-nous directement.
Voir la FAQ

Concours Train du futur

Participez pour courir la chance de gagner des accessoires CN100
Selon vous, à quoi ressemblera le train du futur? Laissez libre cours à votre imagination et créez votre propre train du futur en utilisant le matériau de votre choix. Construisez votre modèle à la maison ou lors de votre passage dans l’un de nos évènements CN100 – Célébration en mouvement! Ensuite, publiez une photo de votre création sur Facebook, Instagram ou Twitter en ajoutant les mots-clics #CNTrainDuFutur et #CN100 (assurez-vous de rendre votre publication publique!) Les gagnants seront choisis au hasard chaque mois. Bonne chance!

Passez le mot

Remplissez le formulaire pour inviter un(e) ami(e) à se joindre à la Célébration en mouvement.
Envoyez cette page à un(e) ami(e)